How to make an element disappear?

Hello,

PLEASE HELP! I have a project to complete in Hype, I’ve never used it before, and I am struggling.

I am creating a hamburger creation tool for a food company. It enables people to change the bun, change the cheese, change the relish - you get the idea.

The burger is photographed from the side and I have all of the individual elements as transparent PNGs. When you click on one of the bun options it replaces the current bun (in the composite image) with the new one that has been selected.

I have done this using relative timelines, so I have created a button in the actions palette, when this is tapped it jumps to the timeline for the corresponding bun, and the selected bun slides in.

The problem is that I need the previously selected bun to disappear before the new one slides in, otherwise you will be able to see the previous bun (because the new image/bun in a transparent PNG) underneath the new one. It will also lead to layering issues.

PLEASE HELP! shout if you need more detail.

Thanks in advance.

Hi
##Please Post a Document
If you show other members of the community that you made an attempt and have some work to show what you have already tried, it will make helping you get unstuck much easier.
##Include a zip file
Zip files are better than links because links can go dead.
Just drag a zip file of your .hype document onto the editor.
##Search
Also do not forget to search before you post as there are many questions that have already been asked that may match yours.

1 Like

Jon,

At the beginning of the timeline where you’re sliding the new bun in, you should be able to hide the previous bun by setting its visibility to HIDDEN. You’ll find the DISPLAY attribute in the VISIBILITY section on the Elements Inspector:

Likewise, you can set VISIBILITY of the original bun to VISIBLE and hide the other bun by changing the DISPLAY to VISIBLE or HIDDEN as needed on other timelines.

John

Thank you for your advice John.