Creating an effect where an element goes from invisible to visible when a symbol is rolled over

please help! I am new to hype and a complete noob but used to use flash a bit a while ago, I simply want to be able to rollover a symbol to make another symbol fade in, and fade out again when rolled off. Similarly, to make a symbol play a longer timeline, but stop again and go back to invisible when rolled off. I have managed to use the actions ‘on mouse over’ to make a symbol play the timeline of another symbol but I can’t seem to get the symbol to be invisible to start with, or when i have managed to get it invisible to start with I can’t manage to get it to go back to invisible when ‘on mouse out’ I know what I want to do is simple I just can’t quite get my head around it :frowning: I can try to explain more clearly if that doesn’t make sense.

Hi Katie @ktrilby

What you want to do is to animate the opacity for whatever element you want.

You can do this by opening the properties dropdown in the “timeline” window.

and choosing opacity. You can then animate the opacity of that element.

Another way is to record the change by pressing the record and then move the opacity

slider

D

*edit sometimes it’s better to give an example :wink:

symbolOpacity.zip (17.4 KB)

thanks DBear I appreciate your fast response! I have managed to animate the opacity, from 0%- 100% over 1 second on the timeline inside the symbol, its just I’m getting stuck when i go back to the main timeline and symbol is there at 100% opacity to start with but I don’t want the symbol to appear at all until i rollover its corresponding symbol. i hope that makes sense…

In your Main Timeline set the opacity to 0%. So it won’t show up at the start. :wink:

look at my example if you need.

D