Changing button colors when clicked

Hi I am a teacher and would love to make a type of electronic bulletin board for students to check out and check in when they are in class. So I thought I couls have a list with their names and a button that reads out and in and change colors when clicked . And create a time stamp if possible

I tried to make a simple button change colors when clicked on. I tried applying a Color when in normal state and then another Color when pressed but when I preview it . It turns to the new Color only while I have it pressed and goes back to the normal state again. How can I make it stay on the pressed Color. Also is there a way of inserting a time stamp when the button is pressed.

Thanks for any help. I am very new at this

This method is one way to toggle a button state: How to make a Single Toggle Button

I think for the type of button you want you could use a rectangle element and some javascript.

The reason is it will be easier to do for multiple buttons rather than using timelines.

In this example I have placed a button with two text elements. One button is for the name and the other for the timestamp.

All three elements are placed in a group to make it easier to duplicate.

Each button uses a class name attendanceButton which is used to iterate over on a init javascript at scene load.

//--  We set the buttons up at sceneload
	var buttons = document.getElementsByClassName('attendanceButton');

for (var i =0;i < buttons.length; i++){

buttons[i].style.backgroundColor = "red";

buttons[i].innerHTML  =  "OUT";

Each button also has an ID that is the same as the name. i.e Student name ‘Joe Bloggs’ ID name joeBloggs.

Each date text element will use a similar ID joeBloggsDate

These IDs are used in the javascript to associate the button with the correct date text element.

var thisButton = element;
    var buttonBackgroundColor = element.style.backgroundColor ;
     var buttonDate =  hypeDocument.getElementById(element.id + 'Date');