Can I add a 'screensaver mode' to a presentation?

HI. I have a hype presentation that runs on a touchscreen at an exhibition. The client has asked if, when nobody is using it for a while, can it start to play a bunch of still images. Just like a screensaver. Then when someone starts to interact with it we jump to the start of the main presentation.
Is this possible? I’m no programmer (Why I love Hype) so I wouldn’t know where to start with javascript etc.

Many thanks
Roger

1 Like

Short answer “yes”.

Long answer (warning technical speak).
You would basically run a “timer” and reset it whenever someone moves through the presentation. Once they stop the “timer” would continue for a set amount of time (30 secs, 1 minute) which would / could then jump to a scene that plays the images on it’s Main Timeline (like a screensaver) and of course once someone clicks on that “scene” (the one that is playing the timeline) then the timeline could stop and redirect to scene 1 (beginning of presentation).

So, you would have something similar to this. (The following code may have to be adapted to your situation)

var timer = setTimeout( function () {
    hypeDocument.showSceneNamed('ScreenSaver', hypeDocument.kSceneTransitionCrossfade, 0.4)
}, 30000) // 30 secs (1000ms * 30)

Then on Scene Load of the ScreenSaver scene you would have another function that listens for a “mouse click” (touch) and when that happens it would jump to the beginning scene.

Something like,

element.addEventListener('click', function () {
    hypeDocument.showSceneNamed('start', hypeDocument.kSceneTranstionInstant)
})